Whats it like being an AO?

ThatEMTGuy

Forum Crew Member
The FD in my city is looking for AOs. And i plan on applying, but how does it work? Can it be dual EMTs or 1:1 emt and medic? I work for an ambulance company at the moment so I'm used to IFTs, 911, and paperwork. Any help or advice is appreciated thank you!

Mufasa556

Forum Captain
Depends on the city. What city are we talking about?

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
It's going to vary greatly depending on the system and what resources are available. Could be 2 EMTs, could be B/P, or could be P/P.

Jim37F

Forum Deputy Chief
I'm an Ambulance Operator for my city's FD here in LA County. (Where everything is fire based) In my department, all 6 of our ambulances are dual EMT BLS ambulances. All 9 of our engine companies are (by policy) dual paramedic 4 man companies. So for an EMS call the engine operates like a fly car/squad. An engine and BLS respond...if it's a BLS call they go back in service while we transport. If it's ALS the medics hop in back and the engine follows up to the hospital.
In comparison, the neighboring city has 5 ambulances, 4 are dual fire/medic ALS and the 5th EMT AO BLS ambulance. Those AOs *only* get dispatched to BLS calls and if they determine it to be ALS on scene they have to call for one of the ALS Rescues. Conversely if an RA (well more likely the engine or truck company they're running with) gets on scene first and decides it's a BLS call they'll cancel the RA and dispatch the BLS.