Treating people with dwarfism

LucidResq

Forum Deputy Chief
I've never encountered this situation... but I'm really curious. What are normal vitals for a little person? Can you use an AED... if so... what pads? Are there any special considerations as far as immobilization?

KEVD18

Forum Deputy Chief
neither have i, but i can take a crack at your questions:

1: havent the foggiest idea, but would be interested in the answer

2a: without a doubt
2b: the aha, to the best of my knowledge(i have been an instructor fo r4 years), has never specifically covered this issue in any of its classroom literature since i started teaching. i personally would handle it much like i would determining whether to use pedi pads or adult pads on a 7 year old. if its a particularly monstorous 7 year old, one might be inclined to use the adult pads, since they are really the size of an 8 year old(or bigger etc). thus, the reverse is true. what if and 8 year old is tiny, very underdeveloped. he gets pedi pads.your dwarf will probably buy some adult pads, assuming they dont overlap etc.

3: consider putting two patients on one backboardif its an mci....

Last edited by a moderator:

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
I actually have encountered this many years ago when I had a Dwarf that was in cardiac arrest. The Intermediates questioned if they could use an EOA due to the size? Dwarfism is a genetic disorder where the parts of the body are normal such as head and hands, feet. Where as midget is proportionally small.

Like all patients treat according to age development and size.

R/r 911

OP
OP
LucidResq

LucidResq

Forum Deputy Chief
Anyone have any idea of differences in vitals? I would think that their vitals would resemble those of a child of similar size... but I imagine there may some differences due to age.

Thanks for all the great responses by the way! This has been the "hm?" question on my mind for a couple of weeks.

BossyCow

Forum Deputy Chief