Train accident

CW CC

Forum Ride Along
Hi been on the forum for a few weeks just looking around and decided to post. I am a critical care/flight paramedic in Tennessee with lifestar and have been with lifestar for about 3years.

This accident I responded to a while ago was SEMI cab vs TRAIN and a few details may be changed for HIPAA obviously.

When ALS arrived on scene they activated a medevac with the note pt has severe injuries to the chest and abdomen hemodynamically unstable and needs rapid transport to university ( 40min drive via ambulance) so we went and when we landed we followed our protocol the nurse started obtaining information, I start a Rapid assessment, while the doc is listens to me and the nurse then tells us what to try. During my assessment patient is a little cool to the touch and the BP is low while the nurse informs us they were already on a fluid bolus so the whole team agreed presser nurse starts drawing the presser choice that the doctor requested, I started flushing the line and administering while continuing assessment, I notice no breath sounds on the right and severe hypoxia while patient nature of illness was trauma.
The crew once again agreed needle decompression I started the decompress as the doc takes over with ultrasound checking placement and further evaluating while I just listen to breath sounds and continued assessment satisfied with needle decompression. Noticed the voltage on ECG lead was decreasing a little and checked heart sounds which were a little muffled but hard to hear so told the doc who used ultrasound and noted cardiac tamponade so started doc did Pericardiocentesis while I finished assessment and we started the transport right after noting increase in BP and heart rate normalizing. Transport went uneventful after that.