Total Noob Thread: Terms and Abbreviations

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cory

Forum Captain
Okay, I'm going to swallow my pride and be a total noob by starting this thread. My reason for doing so, I'm tired of trying to guess what the abbreviations used commonly here are. I'm not in EMS in any way, although I do know some medical terms and abbreviation (ie. CPR, ECG, AED, those kinda things)

But certain words like ED, and code, leave me totaly in the drak still. And I have decided, instead of running arund the internet typing in two letter searches in Google and spending an hour in searching for the meaning of the abbreviation ED, I would just ask here.

Who knows, this could help future noobs also.

So, post all common EMS terms and abbreviations, and just one typically used in discussion on these forums please.

And spare the "This makes me laugh" and the "Wow, noob" Not that I can think of anyone here who would say that, but someone might.

-Cory-

DrankTheKoolaid

Forum Deputy Chief
Last edited by a moderator:

Tincanfireman

Airfield Operations
Try Google + "common EMS abbreviations". You'll get something like this:

http://www.weisscentral.com/EMS/Abbreviations.htm , or this

http://www.emszone.com/emti/AbbreviationGuide.cfm , or perhaps this,

http://www.emtlife.com/showthread.php?t=11290 (posted less than 6 months ago, right here on EMTLife.)

I would list a few more, but "common ems abbreviations" returned 898,000 hits on Google. My recommendation is to quit trying to get other people to do your research for you and learn how to do it yourself.

Last edited by a moderator:

Tincanfireman

Airfield Operations
I'm not going to start a flame-war in a public forum. If you want to talk to me about your perception of my opinions, it's probably best done via PM.

OP
OP
Cory

Cory

Forum Captain
I'm not going to start a flame-war in a public forum. If you want to talk to me about your perception of my opinions, it's probably best done via PM.