The dreaded ACP Exam....

Wee-EMT

Forum Lieutenant
I am currently a EMT student at SAIT and my platoon and I are starting to study for the ACP exam.:wacko: (which we will hopefully get to write in May....lol!) Does anyone have any tips for the written? Also what kind of scenarios should we expect for the medical and trauma?

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
Welcome to EMTLife!

I moved your post to our International forum so that some of our Canadian members can give you some feedback.

Good luck!

Kendall

Forum Lieutenant
First of all, welcome to EMTLife!

The advice I give to anyone preparing for the ACP exam is to study the AOCP very thoroughly. If your instructor hasn't already talked to you about it you can find it on the ACP website. Expect the same type of questions that were on the EMR exam, the questions will be similar in nature, but to a higher level and will expect a higher standard of critical thinking. They often put obscure things on the exam such as APGAR scores and Cushing's triad.

Don't wait till the week before to study, continuously review from the time you're finished class to the exam. Doesn't sound like that's an issue if your platoon is starting already!

Read the whole question, underline the important bits. Don't over-think the question. If you're stuck, move on and come back to it later so you don't waste time. There will likely be something later on in the exam that may help you answer the question. If you're still stuck use the process of elimination, but remember to keep it simple.

Secondly, I suggest making sure that you are very well practiced in verbalizing everything in both the medical and the trauma scenarios. Look over the exam policies and be sure you stay within your scope; there have been a lot of failures lately for out of scope procedures. Your preceptors might help you out by running through some typical ACP style scenarios between calls.