Texas ENA position paper against EMS

TransportJockey

Forum Chief

Carlos Danger

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
Never been a fan of the ENA, even when I briefly worked as an ED nurse, or the years that I worked as a flight nurse. I am well aware of times that the ENA has unfairly attacked and frankly been quite insulting to paramedics.

But I didn't see any paramedic-bashing in this ENA letter. I would agree that the ENA overstates the differences in educational preparation between nurses and paramedics and also the ability of nurses to practice "autonomously" vs. a paramedic, but I wouldn't call that "fear mongering", or an attempt to "hold their siblings down in mediocrity" or "attack their intelligence", as the blog post says. In fact there's much more hyperbole in the blog post than in the ENA letter.

I'm generally not a fan of protectionism (using the law or politics to keep your competition at bay), but nor am I a fan the reverse of that, where profession A uses politics to crowd into profession B's territory when there is really no market demand for profession A there. I don't know if that's what is trying to be accomplished by the bills in question, but unless there is a real shortage of ER nurses and techs in Texas, it would appear that this is more a case of paramedics attacking RN's than the other way around.

What would Texas paramedics say about a bill that allows RN's to work EMS with no EMS training or certification? They would oppose it, of course, writing letters to each other stressing and exaggerating how much more highly prepared they are for the prehospital environment than nurses, and how nurses shouldn't be allowed on ambulances. And they'd be right.

DrParasite

The fire extinguisher is not just for show