• Ski Patrol Auxillary (volunteer)

Votes: 1 6.7%
  • Ski Patrol (professional)

Votes: 5 33.3%
  • Ski Patrol Snowboard

Votes: 1 6.7%
  • OEC

Votes: 3 20.0%
  • Other medical certs, EMT, RT, RN, LPN, etc...

Votes: 10 66.7%
  • What is NSP/OEC???

Votes: 4 26.7%

• Total voters

Luno

OG
Premium Member
Okay, who works ski patrol, and where do you work? What's your level of training, and status?

Summit

Critical Crazy
Almost everyone around here is an EMT-B pro-patroller.

Some areas allow OEC for the first year or use some volunteers that are OECs.

There is a trend to find some EMT-Is at some resorts so they can give morphine.

Most resorts try to have a Paramedic around.

5 resorts around here have a trauma centers at the base area, (level IIIs and Vs). The others have clinics or first aid rooms.

(note, I do not patrol)

Last edited by a moderator:

mikie

Forum Lurker
I've been skiing for 10+ years, but only once or twice a year. What kind (other than residency) requirements are needed (ie level of skiing), etc?

thanks!

Summit

Critical Crazy
I've been skiing for 10+ years, but only once or twice a year. What kind (other than residency) requirements are needed (ie level of skiing), etc?

thanks!

Depends on where you are skiing... 20 ski days in your life is pretty weak to be running a toboggan... OTOH if you are a patrolling at Snow Creek maybe it is different ;)

medic8613

Forum Crew Member

thanks!