Retesting "Oral B" NREMT-P in a Month

maitai11

Forum Probie
Hi Everyone,

I've been a paramedic for 21 years; EMS a total of 25. While I have kept up my State of Hawaii license the entire time, I ended up losing my national license back in the late 1990's. Last year, I decided to enter the re-certification process. The entire time since losing my NREMT license, I've worked as an engineer/paramedic until five years ago when I became a lieutenant.

I took the psychomotor exam in March of this year - but I ended up failing the Oral B station, so I have one more chance to test for Oral B. A couple months ago, I passed the written test after completing 75 questions. I am literally 15 minutes away from regaining my NREMT-P license! Good times!

The oral stations really gave me a hard time, probably because I've been out of the loop due to becoming a lieutenant - my EMS exposure has gone down considerably, and we do not staff paramedic engines; although I may present that idea to management after I am once again licensed by the NREMT.

Of course, after failing three stations, and passing Oral A, I gave myself the ol' V-8 forehead slap. Apparently, I didn't go deep enough on some, but mis-dosed on a peds case.

(Scenarios removed - Admin)

The one I passed was a straight-up trauma scenario which I pretty much nailed. That at least gave me some hope!

Can anyone please tell me some of the keys to passing the oral station are? This station was not a part of my original test back in 1993, and the formatting and vague testing criteria really threw me for a loop.

- Are there any code 500 scenarios, or was that covered during dynamic and static cardiology?
- Does Oral B cover ONLY certain areas, such as peds-only scenarios?
- Can you please give me the key to making sure I adequately cover all aspects needed to pass this station?