Really Quick Question

Cory

Forum Captain
Is 3,723 calls in a year considered very active? And do you think logically that a city (suburban) with predominately very rich citizens would have higher pay rates for EMS than a large city (like huge suburban) with predominately dirt poor citiznes?

And I would shoot myslef if a I was an EMT/Paramedic in my hometown (one square mile, about 2 hours away from nearest hospital). So do you think if I am someone who is generally hyper and genuinely interested in getting as many calls as possible, do you think I should work for a busy department?

Guess that wasn't so quick. The first question was what I'm really after.

Thanks
-Cory-

Last edited by a moderator:

medic417

The Truth Provider
Busy would not be how many calls for the service but how many calls per ambulance.

As to pay the best pay I get is in a poverty stricken area as they have decided proper medical care is more important than other wastes that many richer areas choose to have.

wyoskibum

Forum Captain
Is 3,723 calls in a year considered very active?

Depends on how many ambulances are being staffed. If there is one ambulance 24/7, then that would be an average of ~10 calls per 24 hr period. Which I would say is moderately busy keeping in mind some days you might get 20 calls and other days just a few.

And do you think logically that a city (suburban) with predominately very rich citizens would have higher pay rates for EMS than a large city (like huge suburban) with predominately dirt poor citiznes?

Depends on the service. A town/city/county may pay more and have better benefits compared to a private, for-profit service. Is it all career or combined system with volunteers and career. What is the cost of living? Some parts of the country do not pay as well as others.

So do you think if I am someone who is generally hyper and genuinely interested in getting as many cllas as possible, do you think I should work for a busy department?