Palm Springs AMR Schedules

ting

Forum Ride Along
Hi everyone, this is my first post!

I am looking forward to a phone interview with Palm Springs AMR next week. I am a new EMT. I'm so excited to work in EMS! I got to ride-along with some great folks at San Francisco AMR recently.

A recruiting coordinator contacted me shortly after I submitted my application. However, she informed me Palm Springs AMR was only looking for full-time EMTs (although I'm fairly certain I saw that the job posting mentioned part-time as well). I was hoping to work part-time, as I have a few other commitments I'm juggling, so I was definitely disappointed. I'm not opposed to full-time, but I would have to make some difficult decisions to make it work. She proposed I schedule the interview anyway and ask my questions about the full-time schedule then as she didn't have concrete details for me. She also said she would get back to me about scheduling the interview after she inquires with Palm Springs about the possibility of part-time.

As I am trying to think through if I can make full-time work, I am wondering if I could find some information before the interview so that I might have time to process the decisions I have to make. Does anyone out there have any insight as to how likely it would be for the Palm Springs station to hire a new EMT for part-time? (Is this just wishful thinking on my part?) What if I could offer full-time to start then go part-time after two months? Also, what do the full-time and part-time schedules look like? How far in advance do you receive your schedule and can you make requests? Have you guys found it pretty easy to get your shifts covered if you need to? Do you feel like you have flexibility?

Thanks so much for any insight or even guesses regarding Palm Springs, part-timing for newbies, AMR in general...

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll