Not taking your work home with you.

Fry14MN

Security Officer/Dispatcher/FR
I am a Security Officer and Dispatcher at a very large hospital and today was a particularly rough day for me. The ER was packed to capacity with patients and several we had to call codes for. But there was one patient specifically that pulled at my heart. She was an older lady that was there because she truly wanted help and was scared with all the commotion going on. She was NOT a patient we had to call a code for, she was just scared. She happened to come in about 45 minutes before the end of my shift and as I was leaving she was begging me to not leave her; she was holding my hand and crying. At the time she came in we also had 3 ambulances bring patients back that were already restrained and combative so naturally they had the majority of our attention.

I guess what I am getting at is I feel bad for leaving her. She felt safe with me there and I couldn't stay.Of course she is safe with the nurses and doctors but how do you "let go" of those special patients that pull at your heart.

NysEms2117

ex-Parole officer/EMT
I am going to sound like a ruthless *** right now, but by not getting attached to people. By no means am I saying not do your job, but if you can do that efficiently and not get attached I think that would be the way to go.
Sorry if that comes off bitter, just can't think of a better way to word it

OP
OP
Fry14MN

Fry14MN

Nys, we know each other enough now and you should know I don't think you are an *** or come off rude. :)

I've had no issues in the past with getting attached to patients but this particular one just got to me. It had been a rough afternoon already and she came in right in the middle of several high risk patients. She was scared and attached herself to me. I just feel bad. This isn't the norm for me by any means.

Qulevrius

Nationally Certified Wannabe