MD to paramedic

Mcikc3

Forum Ride Along
Good morning all,
I graduated from medical school and entered general surgery residency. Long story short, I became more and more burnt out to the point that I left residency. I saw surgeons spending less and less time with patients (and their own families) and more and more time with administrative BS.
anyway, great field but wasn’t for me. I’ve been on a strange path since and currently teaching anatomy and physiology for a nursing program.
I miss the thrill of caring for sick and critical patients and am considering becoming an EMT or paramedic.
This idea is brand new and I’d love to hear if anyone makes this type of transition. Can I test out of any aspects of certification? Has anyone been in my position? How do you all find the lifestyle and work/life balance? Thanks in advance!

Rockin2climb

Forum Ride Along
Good morning all,
I graduated from medical school and entered general surgery residency. Long story short, I became more and more burnt out to the point that I left residency. I saw surgeons spending less and less time with patients (and their own families) and more and more time with administrative BS.
anyway, great field but wasn’t for me. I’ve been on a strange path since and currently teaching anatomy and physiology for a nursing program.
I miss the thrill of caring for sick and critical patients and am considering becoming an EMT or paramedic.
This idea is brand new and I’d love to hear if anyone makes this type of transition. Can I test out of any aspects of certification? Has anyone been in my position? How do you all find the lifestyle and work/life balance? Thanks in advance!