Looks like I'm back to software. No EMS opps anywhere.

Phlipper

Forum Lieutenant
I've wanted to try EMS since I took the CLS course in the Army many years ago, and finally got the opportunity to start this year. So I'm an EMT-B in the medic A&P class and after contacting every paid and volunteer county, municipal, and community service in a 75 mile radius I can't even find a place to volunteer. I have exactly zero practical experience and no chance of getting any until Paramedic clinical rotations, and the odds of landing any kind of paying gig are astronomical and don't appear to get much better after the Para course. Sure hate it. I talked to a lot of EMTs and Medics before starting school and never got a hint of this bad of a job situation. Maybe if I'd started younger. I dunno.

So ... back to Cubicle Hell. I'm sending out resumes tomorrow to start looking for an IT job again. The money will be nice, but I feel like I've sold my soul to jargon-spewing, backstabbing corporate zombies. The mere though of going back makes me nauseous. But I can't justify another year of school when the job prospects are this bad and likely to get worse as the tax base to pay for these services keeps shrinking more and more each quarter all over the Southeast.

Hope you guys have better luck than I have had. Ya'll stay safe out there. :D

akflightmedic

Forum Deputy Chief
No one misled you here. See this thread many times over....people still do not listen.

Good luck!

OP
OP
P

Phlipper

Forum Lieutenant
No one misled you here. See this thread many times over....people still do not listen.

Uhhh .. not sure where this is coming from, or where I said that. I hadn't even heard of this site till I was almost finished with the basic. :blink:

Last edited by a moderator:

akflightmedic

Forum Deputy Chief
Just reinforcing what you said for any johnny come latelys.