I've meet him; a "Paragod"

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
I've only been in EMS for a few months, but just last week I had the opportunity to meet my first "Paragod". It was quite an experience. I've learned that in my county there are two levels of being an EMT: Paramedic, and the rest are just ambulance drivers. I was able to laugh about it after the call when we were going back to our post, but I admit it was frustrating. If ever there was any doubt I'm only an EMT-Basic, he sure let me know.

It's all part of the job I guess.

SafetyPro2

Forum Safety Officer
Unfortunately, there's a lot of that here in LA County as well due to how EMS works here.

Most all FFs are EMT-1s, but the Paramedics are the lead on EMS calls. Its not so bad amongst the FD personnel since they're all FFs together and the Paramedics do usually let the FD EMTs do what they can.

Private ambulance company EMTs, however, are generally looked-upon as "ambulance drivers" by the FD Paramedics. In the situations where a private ambulance does transport for a FD, the FD Paramedic will end up riding in the ambulance and being the primary patient-care person. Private ambulance EMTs usually only get to do their own patient care on inter-facility transports where the FD's not involved.

OP
OP
MMiz

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
I guess in a sense I understand the viewpoint from FD folks that we are just transporters. The private company I work for just got their first contract for a city. We respond with BLS, ALS, Critical Care, and Paramedic First Responders (in Tahoes). The city has only a volunteer FD, and PD will respond to EMS calls just to see what's going on.

It's the paramedics that work for our own company that are the paragods. While almost everyone else has been nothing but amazing toward me, there are those few paramedics who can't stand us basics. I sometimes want to remind them they they are just a paramedic, not a MD. But of course I wouldn't.