Is Venous Cutdown in the Paramedic Scope of Practice

Justjewit

Forum Ride Along
I am a Vet Tech and we get to do that but now that I am about to get my A and then go to paramedic school I was wondering if that was in their scope as well.

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
I know there is one area in New Mexico I believe that has it in their protocols.

Flying

Mostly Ignorant
I've only heard or read about it being done prehospitally by medics in Washington/Texas/Oklahoma.

chaz90

Community Leader
Community Leader
Very few areas have this in the paramedic scope of practice. I don't know why anyone would want it either. Even in-hospital, it's very much fallen out of favor. I think most clinicians would be apt to use more modern techniques to place a central line. Pre-hospitally, I'd much rather just place an IO. The back of an ambulance is not the place to be excising large amounts of tissue to access central circulation.

NomadicMedic

I know a guy who knows a guy.
Seattle/King never did venous cutdowns. They did (and maybe still do) place central lines. A pretty messy, infection prone practice.

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
I know there is one area in New Mexico I believe that has it in their protocols.
Texas, but you are close [emoji14] My old service in west Texas had it in our protocol, but with the advent of EZ-IO and the ability to place femoral central lines, it never got used
NM has a state scope of practice and cut downs are not in it. I suppose that a service could apply for a special skills permit, but they'd have to show a need for it... and there just isnt a need.

Last edited:

Carlos Danger

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
The widespread adoption of IO prehospitally and US in the hospital has pretty much nailed the coffin shut on cutdowns.

MonkeyArrow

Forum Asst. Chief