I'm moving to DC..questions

Raf

Forum Lieutenant
Currently I'm a Massachusetts EMT-B. As many of you know MA does not get involved with NREMT so I don't know much about it.

I'm moving to the DC area and planning to work there as an EMT-B. Now given the "tri-state" area along with NREMT I am confused as to what I should go for. I don't mind working in any of those three states, it all depends on job availability.

Which states; DC, Virginia, or Maryland, accept the NREMT? Which state should I take the NREMT exam in? Lastly, between those three states would any accept reciprocity for my MA certification and avoid NREMT in general?

Any of you guys from that area, which certifications do you have? (state specific or NREMT?)

Sorry if it's a lot of questions, but I don't know anybody down there in EMS so I have no idea what I'm getting into. Thanks

OP
OP
Raf

Raf

Forum Lieutenant
45 views..nobody from DC area here that could give any insight?

abckidsmom

Dances with Patients
Currently I'm a Massachusetts EMT-B. As many of you know MA does not get involved with NREMT so I don't know much about it.

I'm moving to the DC area and planning to work there as an EMT-B. Now given the "tri-state" area along with NREMT I am confused as to what I should go for. I don't mind working in any of those three states, it all depends on job availability.

Which states; DC, Virginia, or Maryland, accept the NREMT? Which state should I take the NREMT exam in? Lastly, between those three states would any accept reciprocity for my MA certification and avoid NREMT in general?

Any of you guys from that area, which certifications do you have? (state specific or NREMT?)

Sorry if it's a lot of questions, but I don't know anybody down there in EMS so I have no idea what I'm getting into. Thanks