I'm an EMT and got a DUI... What now?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Matt9530

Forum Ride Along
Here it goes. I'm 23 and I've been licensed and practicing as an AEMT in the state of TN for the past two years at a private ambulance service. Last night I was out drinking and decided to drive and got arrested. I've been charged with a DUI, speeding, and due care. Is this the end of my career? Will my EMT license be revoked? Will I still be employable or fired from my current job? I've worked extremely hard to get where I am. I'm making decent money, have my own place, etc... I'd hate to lose all of that over a temporary lapse in judgement.

BASICallyEMT

Forum Lieutenant
Premium Member
I imagine your company has a policy where u would have to inform them of the arrest. I also imagine your state does too? I couldn't find anything other than the initial requirements on your states ems website but I would start there. Everyone makes mistakes & hopefully u will grow from it.

Chewy20

Forum Deputy Chief
You can't drive an ambulance without a license...obviously. Most people get fired after things like this and rightfully so. Unless they have a position where you don't have to drive, you're pretty much out of luck.

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
Most likely you will lose your job. Depending on state law you might be able to keep your patch.

akflightmedic

Forum Deputy Chief
You were arrested last night and are already free? Are they not following the laws there?

According to my Google-Fu you should have had a minimum of 48 hours locked up. You license will be suspended for 1 year and you also have to have the ignition lock out device, even for first time offender.