Identifying yourself as an EMT in Spanish

Lifeguard

Forum Ride Along
This is a question to the native Spanish speakers.

Will a spanish speaking pt understand what I mean by EMT? If not how does one identify themselves, especially out of uniform when it's not obvious?

Additionally, if anyone has lived in mexico, what is their equivalent that I could possibly compare myself to (I'm in San Diego)?

JPINFV

Gadfly
Paramedico

More correctly, "Estoy paramedico" (or is it "soy".... I know ser is supposed to be permanent where estar is temporary, but it's a career/job).

A good intro would be, "Buenas dias, me llamo [name]. Estoy paramedico. Habla Espanol solamente? Pardon, pero, no hablo Espanol."

Translated, "Good day, my name is [name]. I'm a paramedic. Do you speak Spanish only?" Sorry, I do not speak Spanish."

Literally translated: "Good day, I call myself [name]. I'm a paramedic. Do you speak Spanish only. Pardon (think of "pardon me for bumping into you" vs "Sorry for your loss" ["Lo siento"]), but I don't speak Spanish."

9D4

Forum Asst. Chief
More correctly, "Estoy paramedico" (or is it "soy".... I know ser is supposed to be permanent where estar is temporary, but it's a career/job).

A good intro would be, "Buenas dias, me llamo [name]. Estoy paramedico. Habla Espanol solamente? Pardon, pero, no hablo Espanol."

Translated, "Good day, my name is [name]. I'm a paramedic. Do you speak Spanish only?" Sorry, I do not speak Spanish."

Literally translated: "Good day, I call myself [name]. I'm a paramedic. Do you speak Spanish only. Pardon (think of "pardon me for bumping into you" vs "Sorry for your loss" ["Lo siento"]), but I don't speak Spanish."
I'll try to remember what I can from a few years back, haha. My Spanish teacher grew up in Spain, so there may be some things that are differences between Mexico (what we would most likely encounter), vs Spain.