How to become ER Tech.

surub

Forum Crew Member
Hello everyone, In about 5 days I'm receiving my EMT - B cert. I am currently living in the state of Connecticut and I am 17. I was reading on the web that if you are a certified EMT-B that also qualifies you to work as an ER tech.

If I can work as an ER tech I was wondering how would I go about finding the job?

VentMedic

Forum Chief
I was reading on the web that if you are a certified EMT-B that also qualifies you to work as an ER tech.

If I can work as an ER tech I was wondering how would I go about finding the job?

That depends entirely upon where you are. The ER Tech is normally an entry level job and your EMT-B cert offers proof that you have had some training. However, a prehospital cert is not always recognized inside the walls of a hospital so if hired, you will be hired under the title or ER Tech and will be working under the rules established by the hospital.

In some areas, they may also want you to have a CNA cert, a Phlebotomy cert and EKG training. However, if phlebotomy is required, most states will want you to be at least 18 y/o since it is an invasive procedure.

Surf up the employment listings for your local hospital and see what you can find. There may also be other titles used for the ER Tech.

OP
OP
surub

surub

Forum Crew Member
Alright thanks, I guess I'll keep looking. :)

Hopefully they will hire under 18 :p

Maya

Forum Lieutenant