How Do You Know?

charlietango

Forum Ride Along
Hey there. I'm new to the forums so I guess welcome to me? I'm an anxious person - in my own mind and decisions that is. Since I graduated high school in 2015 I've always been obsessed with the idea of a career in the emergency service field.

I've sat on the idea for a few years to see if I was kidding myself, and still that infatuation hasn't gone away so this year I decided to bite the bullet and commit.

I am potentially taking the MFR program in March. I'm based in Canada so that is the Medical First Responder course that you have to take before EMT.

For someone who doubts themselves how did you know you were meant for the medical field? Emergency services field? Despite anxieties, how did you know this was your calling?

Even if I discover I don't want to proceed to EMT/Paramedic is becoming an Emergency Dispatcher plausible with this course? Or are there other careers out there with a vein in Emercency.

mgr22

Forum Deputy Chief
I don't think you know if something is your calling until you try it to see how well it fits your life and values. Just don't make that decision after, say, one day. Also, I think it's fine to do something for a living or a hobby, even if it isn't a calling.

Bullets

Forum Knucklehead
I didnt even think that medicine or emergency work was anywhere in my future before i started. I was studying History concentrating archival and preservation sciences. Once i graduated i had a summer free and a friend suggested joining the volunteer first aid squad and the rest was history.

All ill say is do it. Worst case you find out you hate it and now you know, and have a little more medical training in your background. Best case youll find a new job you love

GMCmedic

Forum Deputy Chief