Handtevy question

Uclabruin103

Forum Lieutenant
Really a two part questions. Does handtevy method for peds dosing have an et tube size component. Also what method do people use for sizing other than the browslow tape.

I've heard of the age/4 + 4, but wondering what else is out there.

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
For pedi tubes I've heard the size of their pinky finger or the size of their nare as additional ways of measuring the ET tube.

CANMAN

Forum Asst. Chief
(Age/4) + 3 cuffed tubes
(Age/4) + 4 uncuffed tubes

Most accurate method out there for peds.......

TomB

Forum Captain
"I'm great at math. I'm terrible at math during a code." - Peter Antevy, M.D.

PBavaro

Forum Ride Along
Hi guys,

I actually work for Dr. Antevy and the Handtevy System. I am also a Firefighter/Paramedic down here in South Florida.

To answer your question
Really a two part questions. Does handtevy method for peds dosing have an et tube size component. Also what method do people use for sizing other than the browslow tape.

I've heard of the age/4 + 4, but wondering what else is out there.

The Handtevy System does actually provide for ET Tube sizes for all age groups. The Handtevy System is much more than just the Handtevy Method (The hand counting method for the 8 most commonly used drugs in a pedi emergency). We actually customize medication guides for YOUR department and YOUR protocols. Every medication, concentration, and back-up drug that you carry is actually dosed for you in the mL dose essentially eliminating all aspects of math. We also customize whichever airway equipment your department uses and size it for you in the medication guides as well. For instance, if you use ET Tubes, King Tubes, and I-gels in your department you will have all 3 of those listed on each page of the guide and have it already sized for you. This is the same with your electrical equipment. All your joule settings are there for you!