fact or fiction

ffemt101986

Forum Probie
As a newer paramedic i have what may be a dumb question. I have been on a few full arrests recently where my older paramedic partner seems to think that we are able to judge the quality of chest compressions by watching the waveform on the cardiac monitor. At first i thought that was one of those tricks you learn over time but the more i think about it it doesnt make sense. The monitor measures electrical activity of the myocardium. CPR is simply a mechanical function. That being said is there a way to effectively judge quality of chest compressions other than ETCo2? I may be way out in left field here and wont have my feelings hurt if i get critical responses. I want to be squared away without comi g off like im questiong my FTO.

VFlutter

Flight Nurse
No, the EKG artifact does not tell you anything about the quality of compressions. When doing compressions you will usually see a rhythmic waveform type pattern. Maybe he is assuming that the rate and appearance will tell you something. While I guess it could tell you about tempo it will not give you any objective data about quality.

I am lucky that many of my patients who arrest get an arterial line. Best way to visualize the effectiveness of your compressions.

NomadicMedic

I know a guy who knows a guy.
You CAN assess the quality of compressions with a puck that is placed on the chest. Some monitors use this to determine depth and rate and provide feedback during the code.

The Physio "code stat" software can be used after the arrest to critique a code. It provides a breakdown of "on chest time" and the compression fraction. It uses a measurement of impedance between the defibrillator pads to assess compression quality. Reviewing a code that utilized the LUCAS and short assessment/shock pauses is amazing to see.

But you're correct. The CPR artifact doesn't accurately reflect quality of compressions.

tchristifulli

Forum Crew Member