Facebook Privacy?

planetmike

Forum Lieutenant
Our agency recently had a high profile call. It has been recommended that we change our names on our Facebook profiles and remove mention of our affiliation with our squad from our “About” section of our profiles. This is to prevent possible revenge taken on us if we get tracked down. Does changing our profiles seem reasonable? I’m open to your thoughts, I can’t find much online anywhere about social media guidelines, other than maintaining patient privacy and not posting things that will get you in trouble or fired.

medichopeful

Flight RN/Paramedic
My Facebook profile lists neither where I work nor what I do. It's just easier and safer that way in general. Those who are close to me know what my profession is, but listing "secret government assassin" on a public forum doesn't seem like a good idea.

I think changing your profile to hide some information might not be a bad idea.

luke_31

Forum Asst. Chief
If you remove where you work and don't post exactly where you live and have your settings so only your friends can see your info and posts you should be good.

Fry14MN

Security Officer/Dispatcher/FR
If you want to post where you work and what you do there is ways to hide that stuff so only people that are actually friends with you can see it. On your Facebook page on the left side where it lists where you are from, relationship status, your job and so on, you can edit those to only show what you want if someone was to look at your page without being your friend.

NysEms2117

ex-Parole officer/EMT
My policy is no facebook :). At any of my jobs, people being able to find me, where i work, or anything out about me results in a very very bad day for me, or my family.

Reynolds One

Forum Probie
I tend to agree with the "No Facebook" policy.