EMT Challenge CNA in CA?

MattCA

Forum Crew Member
I have been an EMT for a few years and was wondering if there is a way to challenge the CNA cert so I would not have to take the class. I want to because I want to go into nursing plus most of the tech jobs require you to be a CNA now.

Thanks,
Matt

medicRob

Forum Deputy Chief
I have been an EMT for a few years and was wondering if there is a way to challenge the CNA cert so I would not have to take the class. I want to because I want to go into nursing plus most of the tech jobs require you to be a CNA now.

Thanks,
Matt

Apples and oranges. In CNA class you are going to learn things like changing a bed pan, measuring I's and O's, the proper way to make a bed (Yes, there is a specific way), etc.

OP
OP
MattCA

MattCA

Forum Crew Member
Thanks for the info. On the booklet it only has 24 skills to be completed, is that true?

medicRob

Forum Deputy Chief
Thanks for the info. On the booklet it only has 24 skills to be completed, is that true?

Sounds about right. Handwashing, different types of ambulating, I's and O's, dry rounds, turning, oral care, bathing (Bed bath, sitting, shower chair), etc.

OP
OP
MattCA

MattCA

Forum Crew Member
Awesome, thank you. Now just need to hopefully find a CNA course in the summer and work part time during it.

medicRob

Forum Deputy Chief
Awesome, thank you. Now just need to hopefully find a CNA course in the summer and work part time during it.

Look at some local nursing homes, they usually hold CNT courses.

Markhk

Forum Lieutenant
Matt,

California regulations (Title 22) permit US licensed Physicians, Registered
Nurses, Physician Assistants, Vocational Nurses, or Licensed Practical Nurses to challenge the EMT curriculum to get their EMT cert. All approved EMT training programs are supposed to have a challenge program.

Unfortunately, CNAs don't fall under any of these categories.

Journey

Forum Captain
Unfortunately, CNAs don't fall under any of these categories.