EMT cert equivalent to CNA?

BrockSpring

Forum Ride Along
I'm trying to get a job as an ER tech in Washington state and I've seen a few job openings that say "CNA level-A required" so being that I have my EMT-B cert. can I apply for this job or do I really need to get my CNA?

JPINFV

Gadfly
Your best bet would be to contact the employer and ask.

ffemt8978

Forum Vice-Principal
Community Leader
You will need to get your CNA. WA treats them as different skill sets, with different certification requirements. Here is the link to the DoH site about CNA's. http://www.doh.wa.gov/hsqa/professions/Nursing_Assistant/default.htm

I am an EMT-ILS and still had to take the 40 hour "Home Health Care Provider" course in order for the state to pay me to take care of my disabled mother at home.

Hockey

Quackers
CNA and EMT is different. I looked into it. I was told they teach CNA's know how to do catheters, wipe butts better, and know how to properly move a patient. Seriously was told that.

So that sounds about right

JPINFV

Gadfly
CNA and EMT is different. I looked into it. I was told they teach CNA's know how to do catheters, wipe butts better, and know how to properly move a patient. Seriously was told that.

So that sounds about right

To be fair, though, none of those are really covered in EMT-B class with the exception of, maybe, bed to bed transfers. How good are most EMTs at bed to wheelchair transfers for anything more than the most basic, patient powered, stand and pivot routine? Within a reasonable weight, I can transfer anyone from a bed to a wheelchair with the only requirement that the patient can shuffle their feet and bear some (definitely not all) of their own weight from what I learned being trained to do hospital volunteering. The patient doesn't even need to be able to sit up under their own power. I imagine that the CNAs were trained significantly better for patient transfers than what I was taught in about an hour.

LucidResq

Forum Deputy Chief