EMS In-Station programs with Fire

Virgil

Forum Crew Member
Hey all, this is my first post. I hope this is the right spot.

Anyway, I'm a student in SoCal at the moment, and I'm trying to map the job market when I done with school. I'm looking at Care and McCormick, and I heard from a friend that Care and McCormick both have in-house programs with some FD's. Could anyone shine some light on this? What exactly is the duty post?

I'm assuming they respond from the station and all, but how is it(For anyone who's gone through)? Is it hard to grab a slot as a new hire?

Jim37F

Forum Deputy Chief
McCormick does not have any units stationed in house with Fire. All McCormick stations are their own buildings (usually old houses, or a space out of a strip mall). They don't have any units posted at fire stations, and none of their units are dispatched via FD.

Care does have a few cities where they have units based in house with Fire. La Habra, Anaheim and Fullerton spring to mind, I'm sure someone who works/worked for Care can chime in on the details about what it's like to work those shifts, all I really know is that they exist, and are mostly in Orange County.

OP
OP
Virgil

Virgil

Forum Crew Member
McCormick does not have any units stationed in house with Fire. All McCormick stations are their own buildings (usually old houses, or a space out of a strip mall). They don't have any units posted at fire stations, and none of their units are dispatched via FD.

Care does have a few cities where they have units based in house with Fire. La Habra, Anaheim and Fullerton spring to mind, I'm sure someone who works/worked for Care can chime in on the details about what it's like to work those shifts, all I really know is that they exist, and are mostly in Orange County.