Diesel fumes cause cancer

rmabrey

Forum Asst. Chief
Were already slowly making the switch to gas anyway......I really dont understand why as my few times in a gas truck we have burned way more fuel than normal.

OP
OP

94H

Forum Lieutenant
I'm not a mechanic so I cant tell you the mechanisms behind it, but I believe I read that gasoline is not as efficient as diesel at idle

silver

Forum Asst. Chief
UVA and UVB radiation from the sun increase the risk of cancer. As such, all employees must wear sun glasses, SPF 50 sunscreen, and long sleeves while outside for any given amount of time, effective immediately.

Thanks,

Management

Akulahawk

EMT-P/ED RN
Community Leader
I'm not a mechanic so I cant tell you the mechanisms behind it, but I believe I read that gasoline is not as efficient as diesel at idle
Diesel is quite happy with varying air:fuel ratios. They're throttled by adding or subtracting fuel, the engine always takes in as much air as it can. A diesel engine at idle may have a ratio of 100:1 air/fuel ratio. At full power, you might see 40:1... A gas engine at idle has it's ratio somewhere near 14.7:1... and has to maintain that ratio.

Akulahawk

EMT-P/ED RN
Community Leader
UVA and UVB radiation from the sun increase the risk of cancer. As such, all employees must wear sun glasses, SPF 50 sunscreen, and long sleeves while outside for any given amount of time, effective immediately.

Thanks,

Management
You forgot a hat and gloves.:p

NYMedic828

Forum Deputy Chief
Do you sit next to the exhaust pipe inhaling the fumes? No? I think you are safe...

Your cell phone, tap water, your underwear and television cause cancer too.

Sasha

Forum Chief
This just in:

Life causes cancer

AnthonyM83

Forum Asst. Chief
Do you sit next to the exhaust pipe inhaling the fumes? No? I think you are safe...