Conflict of interest? Working for two ambulance companies

WDA

Forum Ride Along
(My first post, please be gentle.)

Hello EMTs,

I graduated from EMT school in February and finally got a job this week working for an ambulance company here in dusty ol' Los Angeles county. I am interested in working more hours than they are giving me so I've left open another application process with another company.

My question is, Is it ever a conflict of interest to work for two ambulance companies? If it is, when is it a conflict of interest?

Thanks!

WDA

trevor1189

Forum Captain
Most people I know who are paid as an EMT, work at multiple locations so they can work over 40 hours per week. Let's face it EMS isn't really the best paying job.

Aidey

Community Leader Emeritus
You may want to look through your current employer's handbook and see what their rules are on working multiple jobs or "moonlighting". Many places have a policy about it.

firetender

Practically, all you have to be concerned with is your ability to perform at the best of your abilities for -- NOT your employer, but your PATIENTS.

So in this case it becomes a matter of scheduling. Where you'll get reamed is if you work for Company "A" on Tuesday and run, run, run, and then are dragging on Wednesday for Company "B". Were you to be working both days for Company "B", you wouldn't draw as much attention to yourself.

MS Medic

Forum Captain
Some poorly run services who are worried about loosing employees or service area at contract time will put up rules about working at multiple services to discourage it, but that is the only examples I've ever seen of it.

EMTinNEPA

Guess who's back...
It depends... are the two services private companies who are "at war" with each other? If so, one might fire you for working for the other, but that's about it.

Aidey

Yeah...my company isn't hurting for income but we have a moonlighting policy to prevent us from working for the competition.

reaper

Working Bum