Challenging the P-Card with an RN in California

Mitchellmvhs

Forum Crew Member
I was just curious if anyone here has actually done this.

I’ve been an EMT for about a year and a half now and I’m about to start nursing school in fall (hopefully I get accepted). I’ve heard a lot about how a Nurse can challenge a Paramedic license since technically speaking nursing is a “higher education” due to it requiring a degree.

I’ve played with the idea of becoming a paramedic then going to nursing school as I’ve mentioned on this forum a few times. But I’m already done with my prereqs, scored an 88 on teas, and have a associates degree so it’d be kinda dumb of me to go backwards and be a medic.

I just genuinely would still want to be a paramedic as I love EMS and I still get excited driving L&S to calls. I’ve thought about working FT in an ER as a Nurse and working PT on a ground ambulance as a medic.

Weird career path I know, but I’m really interested in being an extremely well educated provider with several backgrounds as far as experience. Also want to go into flight and would like to get ground experience as a medic since I feel like it would make me a better provider.

Was just curious if anyone has done this.

My old partner has told me once I’m a nurse I’ll probably end up just staying nursing and not bother with being a medic too, but I’m 22 and want to do it all so we’ll see lol.

MackTheKnife

BSN, RN-BC, EMT-P, TCRN, CEN
I was just curious if anyone here has actually done this.

I’ve been an EMT for about a year and a half now and I’m about to start nursing school in fall (hopefully I get accepted). I’ve heard a lot about how a Nurse can challenge a Paramedic license since technically speaking nursing is a “higher education” due to it requiring a degree.