Can I still become an EMT?

Elizabeth B

Forum Ride Along
I am currently a high school student and plan on starting my EMT Basic Training next year. I want to become an EMT, it is something I see myself doing and growing in the medical field. The only problem I have is my father stopping me from following my dream due to religious reasons. I do agree with my father but being an EMT is something I already have in my mind. I can't seem to think of any other medical career. I am Seventh-Day Adventist. Which basically means I cannot work Friday nights or all day Saturdays. I don't want to get into religion but that is one of the beliefs that I have. My father will be very disappointed if I did work those days, it isn't something I want to do. Anyways, is there still a chance I can become an EMT and follow my religious beliefs by not having shifts those days?

STXmedic

Forum Burnout
Premium Member
Sure, I don't see why not. It will be dependent on the company you get hired with, though. When I worked in private EMS, I essentially set my schedule. You may have to work PT though, to maintain that flexibility

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
Welcome to EMTLife!

I'm sure that if you try hard enough and make some sacrifices you can make it work.

One of the challenges of working at the EMT-Basic level is that in some regions there seems to be a huge supply of job seekers with limited job opportunities. If you enjoy EMT school I'd encourage you to continue through an EMT-Paramedic program where you'll have far more job opportunities.

Good luck!

EMT707

Forum Crew Member
I don't want to be discouraging at all, but have you found a program that does not operate on Fridays and Saturdays?

It's honorable to respect your families religious beliefs. But to be straightforward you may find a basic school but I'd urge you to check out a medic program as well to find a compatible fit, if you feel medic may be in your future as well.

Where are you from ?

Ewok Jerky