Bachelors of Applied Science in Paramedicine. Is it worth it?

Is it worth it to get a paramedic degree than just a certification?

• Total voters

Logan Bounds

Forum Ride Along
So I am currently taking my prerequisites at Brigham Young University Idaho for the B.S. in Paramedicine. I am a Certified EMT and will be a Certified Firefighter 1 in a month. I am trying to weigh out my options here. I can continue on with the program and finish in 2 years and become an EMT-P or I can get a job as a Firefighter and then go through EMT-P training. I guess my real question is, does it really matter what route I take? Are there any benefits to doing either of them? I have a small family and money is rough and I just want to work already so I can start the process of making money and living my life doing what I love. I am just stuck on how I should accomplish that. Is the stress and suffering really worth it to get this degree or should I pursue becoming a firefighter and then an EMT-P?

Thanks in advance,

Logan

MS Medic

Forum Captain
Is there any benefit to the degree over just the cert from a practical stand point on the job (extra pay, ect.)? If not, I would recommend going through a cert program and once your out doing the job then go back and get the degree or continue your education any way you want.

OP
OP
Logan Bounds

Logan Bounds

Forum Ride Along
Is there any benefit to the degree over just the cert from a practical stand point on the job (extra pay, ect.)? If not, I would recommend going through a cert program and once your out doing the job then go back and get the degree or continue your education any way you want.
I believe to begin with, no there isn't. But I'm not 100% I do know that if you want to hike the chain of command in firefighting like becoming a captain/lieutenant they want a degree. But that's all I know.

MS Medic

Forum Captain