Anyone work full time through Paramedic school?

hogwiley

Forum Captain
Has anyone worked full time while going through Paramedic school, or nearly full time? How did that work out for you?

I work 32 hours a week and I'm wondering if its realistic to keep that up for the entire time. So far its sucked horribly but its been manageable. I work in a hospital and I cant really do any studying at work(Im lucky if I have time to take any sort of lunch most shifts), so studying has to be done in the time between work and school and clinicals.

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
I did, both times lol. First time I was a night floor tech at a hospital working 3 12 hour shifts a week... it was harder than hell... My second try through I was working 1 36 hour shift a week, which was obviously easier, but when I picked up OT it made it rather hard.
You can do it, but it will suck... But there are a lot of us out there that have done it in the past.

Medic Tim

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
Has anyone worked full time while going through Paramedic school, or nearly full time? How did that work out for you?

I work 32 hours a week and I'm wondering if its realistic to keep that up for the entire time. So far its sucked horribly but its been manageable. I work in a hospital and I cant really do any studying at work(Im lucky if I have time to take any sort of lunch most shifts), so studying has to be done in the time between work and school and clinicals.

I did my first year of medic school part time and the second full time all while working full time 2 days 2 nights 4 off. It was VERY stressful. I averaged 1-2 days off a month. I saved up vacation time and had a lot of OT banked that I used as time off. I also had a few coworkers that really helped me out and traded a few shifts with me. The year I went FT I had class and clinical 3-5 days a week for 8-16 hours a day. I was able to study and do a lot of work on my night shifts as it was much slower.