American Professional Ambulance?

Jim37F

Forum Deputy Chief
I'm a new EMT looking for my first job, and I happened to notice a now hiring sign on the back of an APA rig in Pasadena today. So I look up their website and my first impressions is that the website was one of the better and more informative websites for an ambulance company I've seen so far.

Does anyone know more about APA? How much emergency vs IFT calls do they do? Etc?

toyskater86

Forum Lieutenant
from what i hear they pay a little higher than other companies but they do a lot of dialysis runs.

MunchkinMedic

Forum Crew Member
I worked there for about 2 years & it was an alright company. They went through 4-5 supervisors, one supervisor/manager got sued for sexual harassment, the company had a few court cases against them for wrongful termination and multiple other things. But with that being said, I never had a paycheck bounce, had ok benefits, and had a great partner.

OP
OP
Jim37F

Jim37F

Forum Deputy Chief
Ok thanks, yeah I have an interview with APA tomorrow afternoon. I also just got a call from PRN today wanting to set up an interview.

NPO

Forum Deputy Chief
If you see a phone number or a NOW HIRING sign on an ambulance, pass it up.
Also, the more stickers in the back window, the better (Look for the LaCo sticker). If they are LaCo certified, they meet the TIGHTEST requirements.

Either way, good luck. If you get an offer from both, choose PRN. Its a good company. APA is under scrutiny from the county I believe.

(EDIT: just realized this is an older post. Must be time to sleep.....)

Last edited by a moderator:

looker

Forum Asst. Chief
If you see a phone number or a NOW HIRING sign on an ambulance, pass it up.
Also, the more stickers in the back window, the better (Look for the LaCo sticker). If they are LaCo certified, they meet the TIGHTEST requirements.