68W AIT and airborne.

jonathanrs89

Forum Crew Member
I am supposed to leave in January to 68W Basic, followed by AIT, followed by Airborne School. How is the combat medic training, I am an EMT-B and Have worked as an EMT for about a yr. What should I be expecting.

Thanks.

RocketMedic

Californian, Lost in Texas
Put your brain on standby.

Ace 227

Forum Lieutenant
Not necessarily true... Take what they teach you and filter through some of it based on what you already know. I went to Ft. Sam in 2010 after being an EMT for 2 years and I feel the training I received was very good. There were certainly many Whiskeys who didn't grasp everything or only grasped the sexy, trauma stuff(IVs, NCDs, crics, etc.) without gaining the background knowledge to understand fluid resuscitation or o2 therapy or pharmacology, but the info IS there and if you pay attention and apply your previous knowledge, I think you'll see the bad rap the program has gotten in recent years isn't entirely deserved.

That being said, have we gotten new medics at my unit within the past two years that haven't known a thing? Absolutely and it is unfortunate. Just don't let that be you. Be friends with your fellow fast-trackers but don't forget the Army is a team game and you need to help your battle-buddies along as well.

Last edited by a moderator:

RocketMedic

Oh, learn the material. Just don't ask why the Army does what it does in daily operation- you'll see what I mean. Get ready to be a kid in terms of permitted freedoms for the next three to six years.

OP
OP
J

jonathanrs89

Forum Crew Member
Thanks.