EMTLife.com - The #1 Online Forum for EMS-Related Discussion  

Go Back   EMTLife.com - The #1 Online Forum for EMS-Related Discussion > Main EMS Forum > EMS Talk

EMS Talk General EMS Discussion. Not quite sure where to post? Try here first!

Old 05-30-2008, 12:30 PM   #1
emtds28
Forum Ride Along

Training: EMT-Paramedic
Best Boots for a guy with sweaty feet!

Hey everybody, I'm new here. Wanted input on boots. I've been in the business for 10 yrs and always struggle with finding the right boots. Any ideas. I'm a paramedic with a third service county ambulance in the mountains of colorado so I don't need fire protection. I prefer light weight boots, I just have problems with breathability! Thanks in advance for any input!

emtds28 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-30-2008, 12:53 PM   #2
BossyCow
Forum Deputy Chief

Location: Rural (no... really, really rural) Washington State
Training: EMT-Basic
Quote:
Originally Posted by emtds28 View Post
Hey everybody, I'm new here. Wanted input on boots. I've been in the business for 10 yrs and always struggle with finding the right boots. Any ideas. I'm a paramedic with a third service county ambulance in the mountains of colorado so I don't need fire protection. I prefer light weight boots, I just have problems with breathability! Thanks in advance for any input!
In my experience, breathability is as much a sock issue as boots. There are several types with goretex or fabric insets on the sides or tops.

BossyCow,
EMT-B, CPR/AED Instructor, Wilderness First Aid Instructor, NASAR TechII, Wife, Mom, Damn good cook.
BossyCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 12:57 PM   #3
mikeylikesit
Candy Striper

dunno how to help except don't get waterproof boots, go with nylon sides and side zippers for better oxygenation.
Old 05-30-2008, 12:58 PM   #4
Jon
Community Leader
Community Leader

Training: BS, NREMT-P
Send a message via AIM to Jon
Good socks are the solution... something 100% polypro is probably a good option.