PDA

View Full Version : Stretched ears in the EMS profession

Pittsburgh77
12-16-2009, 03:01 AM
First; I would like to clearly state that I do NOT have my ears pierced OR stretched nor do I have any visible piercings.

I'm looking for some input from other EMS professionals about getting my ears pierced and stretched. I currently work as an EMT-B in PA, and I am also a volunteer firefighter. I'm moderatly tattooed [none visible in uniform] and slowly getting into piercing [only have my tongue now, and will be getting my nipples pierced as of tomorrow or Thursday afternoon]

So, with that said; I am thinking about stretching my ears to about 1/2". Does anyone here forsee any problems I will encounter with these as a paramedic student [as of January 11th]

For those who don't know what "stretched ears" here are a few examples:
http://pic70.picturetrail.com/VOL1865/8510734/18044016/379661846.jpg

-This is aprox. the size I would like to get my ears to.
http://pic70.picturetrail.com/VOL1865/8510734/18044016/379661846.jpg

http://pic70.picturetrail.com/VOL1865/8510734/18044016/379661883.jpg
-These ears are 1", not exactly what I want. I only added this picture for a good example of what stretched ears are
http://pic70.picturetrail.com/VOL1865/8510734/18044016/379661883.jpg

(Added direct picture links, if for some reason the pictures didn't show up on here)

So please give me some constructive feedback and personal opinions. Thanks, Adam.

Smash
12-16-2009, 03:20 AM
Unfortunately yes, I do forsee problems with getting your ears stretched. Some people may object to such adornments, and unfortunately these people may or may not be your future employers. I don't personally have a problem with these, but be aware that they may not be the image that a company wants to present to it's customers.